Place an ad

What's Green White & Blue at Tour de France? Orica-GreenEDGE

July 04, 2014
What's Green White & Blue at Tour de France? Orica-GreenEDGE

BikeExchange is a super proud sponsor of Orica-GreenEDGE, Australia’s first professional road racing team competing on the UCI World Tour.

oricagreenedge jersey 2014

News Update

Unfortunately due to injury sustained in a training accident, Michael Mathews will no longer be riding in the 2014 Tour de France. Taking his place is Canadian rider Christian Meier.

Simon Gerrans has pulled out of the 2014 Tour de France after stage 16 due to injuries sustained in stage 1 on the 2014 Tour de France.

Who's taking it to the Tour this year?

  • Simon Gerrans (aus)
  • Michael Albasini (sui)
  • Simon Clarke (aus)
  • Luke Durbridge (aus)
  • Mathew Hayman (aus)
  • Jens Keukeleire (bel)
  • Christian Meier (can)
  • Svein Tuft (can)
  • Simon Yates (gbr)

Check out more about the 2014 Tour de France

When was Orica-GreenEDGE formed and by whom?

Orica-GreenEDGE was formed in 2011. Australian businessman and owner of Jayco Australia Gerry Ryan has invested in the team. Matt White is the team’s Sport Director.

Who are Orica-GreenEDGE’s partners?

BikeExchange, for one! We are and have been since inception the team’s online media partner. Orica, a global leader in explosives, mining chemicals and mining services and Australia’s largest chemical company, is the team’s naming rights sponsor. The team rides SCOTT bikes, wears Craft Functional sportswear and Bolle sunglasses. Other partners include but are not limited to Mitchelton Wines, AIS, Altitude Training Systems, Jeff Banks London, Shimano and Continental.

Orica GreenEDGE 2014

Winners are Grinners

There have been plenty in such a short time frame, but some of the stand-out and more recent palmares include:


Tour Down Under - Simon Gerrans wins overall

Liège-Bastogne-Liège – Simon Gerrans wins overall

Giro d’Italia - Orica GreenEDGE wins stage one / Michael Matthews wins stage six and comes third in stage ten / Pieter Weening wins stage nine

Tour de Slovenie – Michael Matthews wins stage one and comes third in stage four

Tour de Suisse – Cameron Meyer comes second in stage two

Herald Sun Tour – Simon Clarke comes first

Oceania Cycling Championships (Toowoomba) – Luke Durbridge comes first

National Championships Australia – Simon Gerrans comes first

Paris-Nice – Matt Goss comes second in stage three

Tour of Oman - Leigh Howard comes second in stages one and two

Canadian National Champion Time Trial + Road Race - Svein Tuft (his ninth time trial and second road title)


Tour de France – Simon Gerrans wins stage three / Orica-GreenEDGE wins stage four / Michael Albasini comes second in stage 14

Who rides for Orica-GreenEDGE?

Some of the best names in world cycling!

• Simon Gerrans

• Simon Clarke

• Luke Durbridge

• Michael Matthews

• Matthew Goss

• Magnus Cort

• Matthew Hayman

• Sam Bewley

• Michael Albasini

• Simon Yates

• Svein Tuft

• Michael Hepburn

• Mitch Docker

• Pieter Weening

• Adam Yates

• Aidis Kruopis

• Brett Lancaster

• Cameron Meyer

• Christian Meier

• Damien Howson

• Daryl Impey

• Esteban Chaves

• Ivan Santaromita

• Jens Keukeleire

• Jens Mouris

• Leigh Howard

Who is Orica-AIS?

Orica-AIS is the women’s team. Current members include:

• Amanda Spratt

• Annette Edmondson

• Carlee Taylor

• Emma Johansson

• Grace Sulzberger

• Gracie Elvin

• Jessie MacLean

• Katrin Garfoot

• Loes Gennewijk

• Melissa Hoskins

• Shara Gillow

• Valentina Scandolara